Check-out (lock) Confluence attachments for exclusive editing to avoid uncontrolled editing conflicts
When you have checked-out an attachment other users can't edit the attachment. Depending on the configuration admins and space admins may force a check-in. An automatic check-in after a certain time is also possible.
Clicking Edit in Confluence automatically checks-out the attachment. It is checked-in again once you have completed your work. A manual check-out is of course also possible.
You also want to edit an attachment somebody else checked-out? Just click on notify me and you will get an email once the attachment is available.
Simple Checkout adds attachment check-out (lock) functionality to Confluence. When an attachment is checked-out other users can't edit it.
The features in detail:
- Worry-free check-out: a click on "Edit with ..." automatically check-outs the attachment for exclusive write access, launches the application, and automatically checks it in once you have completed your work.
- The app works with the Attachments macro, in the attachments view as well as in View- and Preview-mode.
- A conflicting upload (e.g. via drag & drop) is deleted with a proper notification to the uploading user.
- You can allow admins and space admins to force a check-in.
- You can configure an automatic check-in after a defined number of hours.
- You can also configure a check-in reminder which reminds the user to check-in in case the check-out is older than a defined number of hours.
- Users who also want to edit an attachment which is checked-out can register for a notification once it is available.
Privacy and security