10,081
Customers have installed this app in at least 10,081 active instances.
10,081
Customers have installed this app in at least 10,081 active instances.
10,081
Customers have installed this app in at least 10,081 active instances.
    by Code Barrel Pty LtdTop Vendor
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd is a Top Vendor.  Top Vendors have high standards for app quality, reliability, and support.

    Learn more

    for Jira Cloud, Jira Server 7.4.0 - 8.3.2, Jira Data Center 7.4.0 - 8.3.2 and more versions
    Versions available for Jira Server 7.0.0 - 7.3.9
    Jira Data Center 7.3.0 - 7.3.9
    Supported
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd supports this app.

    Get support

    Jira Service Desk
    This app is compatible with Jira Service Desk.
    Supported
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd supports this app.

    Get support

    Jira Service Desk
    This app is compatible with Jira Service Desk.
    Supported
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd supports this app.

    Get support

    Jira Service Desk
    This app is compatible with Jira Service Desk.

    Automation for Jira - the simple way to automate & extend Jira. All power, no scripts

    Automation for Jira - the simple way to automate & extend Jira. All power, no scripts

    Automation for Jira - the simple way to automate & extend Jira. All power, no scripts

    Automation for everyone

    Power at your fingertips

    Customise and extend Jira

    Save time and stress by automating Jira. No need to create custom scripts or learn APIs. Anyone can configure powerful automation rules easily with our visual rule builder.

    Try it out in our Rule Playground.

    Do more with Jira! Combine simple building blocks in endlessly powerful ways. No need for multiple apps. 1000s of supported use cases include: sync parent and sub-tasks, track SLAs, act on linked issues and many more.

    "Jira on steroids" ... according to our customers! More than just an automation tool, this Jira plugin allows simple customisation and extension all in one nifty solution.

    Automation that just works

    Powers & extends Jira

    Built to Scale

    Save time and stress by automating Jira. Anyone can configure powerful automation rules easily with Automation for Jira's visual rule builder - no custom scripts required!

    Do more with Jira! Combine simple building blocks in endlessly powerful ways. No need for multiple apps. 1000s of supported use cases include: synchronize parent & sub-tasks, track SLAs, act on linked issues & many more

    7 out of the top 10 Fortune 500 companies use Automation for Jira (We're still working on the other 3!) Improve efficiencies and automate repetitive, manual tasks so you can focus on the bigger things!

    Automation that just works

    Powers & extends Jira

    Built to Scale

    Save time and stress by automating Jira. Anyone can configure powerful automation rules easily with Automation for Jira's visual rule builder - no custom scripts required!

    Do more with Jira! Combine the simple building blocks to create powerful automation rules. 1000s of supported use cases include: synchronize parent and sub-tasks, track SLAs, act on linked issues and many more

    7 out of the top 10 Fortune 500 companies use Automation for Jira (We're still trying to get the other 3!). Improve efficiencies and automate repetitive, manual tasks so you can focus on joining the Fortune 500!

    More details

    "Automation for Jira has replaced a lot of 3rd party post functions and scripting add-ons for me. It can do so much without any of the code. As a consultant this lets me leave much more maintainable solutions for my clients who prefer not to code and gets my work done in much less time" Michael, May 2019

    Join over 20,000 (and growing!) happy customers automating Jira across 150 countries!

    Highlights

    • Customize Jira your way - no need for scripts or having to hit Jira's APIs directly
    • Automates manual, repetitive tasks so you can focus on the bigger things
    • 3rd Party Integrations including SMS, Slack, Email, Webhooks, Microsoft Teams and more
    • Legendary customer support! Actually.

    Popular use cases

    See how easy it is to set up your own rules with our Rule Playground!

    Any questions, just email us!

    or Try it for free today!

    More details

    #Gold Top Vendor 2018

    #Fastest Growing Server App 2017

    #Atlassian Codegeist Winner 2016

    We have more than 20,000 happy customers from 150 countries, who can now automate their teams easily. With top reviews, we listen and build for our customers.

    What our customers say

    "This plugin has made our JIRA instance so much more powerful and versatile, could absolutely not live without it. Highly recommend!" - Henrik Hjelm - 2018-03-14

    • The Highlights
      • Any global or project admin can set up rules that will save your company time and money. No need to write custom scripts or work with Jira's APIs.
      • Automation for Jira combines the functionality of dozens of individual apps - but with the ease of a visual rule builder.
      • Secure and optimized for server performance.
    • Popular use cases
      • Comment on related issues
      • Close duplicate issues
      • Keep sub-tasks and parent issues synchronized
      • Calculate sum of values
      • And many more...

    Any questions - just email!

    support@automationforjira.com

    or Try it for free today!

    More details

    #Gold Top Vendor 2018

    #Fastest Growing Server App 2017

    #Atlassian Codegeist Winner 2016

    We have more than 20,000 happy customers from 150 countries, who can now automate their teams easily. With top reviews, we listen and build for our customers.

    • The Highlights
      • Any global or project admin can set up rules that will save your company time and money. No need to write custom scripts or work with Jira's APIs.
      • Automation for Jira combines the functionality of dozens of individual apps - but with the ease of a visual rule builder.
      • Secure and optimized for server performance.

    Automation for Jira is an Atlassian Data Centre Approved app. This means we maintain a consistently high level of availability and performance for organizations of any size.

    Built and supported by a bunch of former Atlassians, Automation for Jira makes it easier than ever to automate business tasks, extend Jira and save countless hours.

    Any questions - just email!

    support@automationforjira.com

    or Try it for free today!

    Reviews for cloud

    (212)
    Sign in to write a review
    by David Younger on 2019-08-20
    Teriffic app. Only had it for about a week but it lets me do almost anything I can think of. And when I did have an issue, they were quick to respond with a workable solution. Teriffic Aussie ingenuity! The unrestricted free trial is perfect for me for now and I will definitely be purchasing this add-on when we start using it seriously. Keep up the good work.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hi David,

    I was only just replying to your support issue! Thanks very much for the review. Really puts a smile on the face of the team :)

    Cheers,

    John

    by Mario Lurig on 2019-08-13
    First and foremost, the free trial period (300 executions/month) makes it really easy to see the value and I've been nothing but impressed with this app. Not only is the interface for creating rules super clean and covers 90% of my needs without using any JQL, but there are new opportunities to make work easier as you get use to the automation being an option. The first automation I created was to add a label to all newly created Stories or Bugs, so I could use a custom issue filter on a dashboard and see everything new created so it could be cleaned up, prioritized, and organized as part of the Product Owner role. Most recently we used a custom label, "blocked", that is automatically applied when an issue "is blocked by" or "blocks" is linked. The label makes it easier to know it's status on the scrum board. Secondarily, the "blocked" label is removed when the triggering issue is marked as "Done" making it all automated. TL;DR This is a fantastic app that is easy to use and has a great trial setup.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hi Mario,

    thanks very much for the lovely review. Glad to hear you got good use out of the free version before upgrading. We hope it does give people a chance to get a feel for the app before making the plunge!

    As ever, if you have any questions - just give us a shout.

    John and the team

    by Mark Mixon on 2019-08-02
    This app if very helpful for us.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hi Mark,

    thanks very much for the lovely review. Glad the app is making life a little easier for you :)

    As ever, just give a shout if you have any questions.

    Cheers,

    John and the team

    by Laurent Bordier on 2019-07-26
    The addon is fantastic no doubt about it! I have been using it using it for a little while and helped me a lot in different scenario. Until I got an issue where the addon was not rendering correctly the SMART FIELDS anymore. So I contacted the support expressing the importance of my issue as it impacts our entire Service Desk. 3 days after I still do not have any answer and the request has almost been ignored. As you can imagine the internal general perception became very bad. My feedback is definitely not about the addon but for the support team. I wish Code Barrel understand my concern as this team deserve better.
    0 out of 1 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hi Laurent,

    thanks for the message and for the positive comments around the app itself. I am very sorry to hear that you have been frustrated by our support however. We take great pride in giving all customers outstanding service and support so hate to see poor reviews around this topic in particular.

    Our SLA for responding to customers is one business day. Although you did have to wait three days, this included the weekend so it was unfortunately bad timing (keep in mind we are based in Australia so many hours ahead of most of the world).

    I do understand how frustrating it is when you have an important change to make and are waiting on assistance. I can see that our engineer has answered your question first thing this morning (Monday morn) in the support issue so you should be good to go.

    Hopefully, this does not put you off using Automation for Jira in the long run!

    Many thanks,

    John and the team

    by Ruth Erica Carpio (IRRI) on 2019-07-24
    is there a way that only the administrators could see this app as I install it in JIRA? The tool seems easy to manage but I need to hide it before I give the team a go to use it
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hey Ruth,

    thanks for the review. You can restrict who creates the automation rules if that's what you mean? You can essentially choose who can create and edit rules and in what projects through the global config. If this doesn't answer your question, could you pop a support ticket through here and we can solve your problem :)

    thanks,

    John and the team

    Reviews for server

    (212)
    Sign in to write a review
    by Humberto Gomes on 2019-08-21
    UAU !!!!! what a wonderful app. It should be mandatory for everyone. Very good tech support though could be faster Requirement for an upcoming release: Send meetings to book our outlook. Example: I have a ticket (change request) for a new implementation with start time at 2:30 pm and end time 4:00 pm, I wish to lock my calendar with this information and got busy. This will allow me to have additional control about my tasks and also visibility about my availability. Many thanks for this terrific app.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Andrew Bilukha on 2019-08-15
    As someone who administers and architects JIRA solution since 2007, this plugin, hands down, is the most useful plugin I've ever used, right along with SU. It makes JIRA so much more robust and opens completely new opportunities with the tool. Absolutely love the tool, please work on automating as many additional fields as possible -- Cascading Select, Approver, and so forth. Do not stop until you've covered all fields, and "Move" to a different issue type function.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hey Andrew,

    thanks a lot for the lovely review. Means a lot, especially coming from someone who has worked with Jira for as long as it has existed!

    With regards to 'automating as many additional fields as possible,' I believe you are referring to the new 'Issue Condition'. If so, then yes absolutely we are continually adding new fields to the issue condition. It has made life much easier!

    Thanks again,

    John and the team

    by Cedric D. on 2019-08-05
    Really a must have! Make's your JIRA life much easier :-) Keep on the good work!
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hi Cedric,

    thanks for the 4 star review, much appreciated!

    Glad it is making life easier (at least in Jira!)

    Just give a shout if you ever have any questions.

    Cheers,

    John and the team

    by Riaan Schutte on 2019-06-21
    The best automation plugin for JIRA. It's just gone from better to better with each release. Really good and clear UI. Well done team!
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hey Riaan,

    thanks very much for the kind words and 4 stars!

    Glad you are getting good use out of Automation for Jira. As ever, just give a shout if you have any questions.

    Cheers,

    John

    by Greg Geesaman on 2019-06-07
    A must have addon for Jira. When used with JSU Automation Suite there isn't much that can't be accomplished. Together they have allowed us in incorporate some pretty complex workflows into Jira. As a developer I've been able to yes to a lot of requests that I'd previously thought impossible.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hi Greg,

    glad to hear it's working well for you and thanks so much for the review!

    Cheers,

    John and the Automation for Jira team

    Reviews for Data Center

    (212)
    Sign in to write a review
    by Silvia Saeta on 2019-01-29
    Excellent addon, it helps us to model automations that are impossible without making scripts, it makes the work in the tool much easier. Thank you!
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hey Silvia,

    thanks very much for the kind review. Glad you are enjoying using Automation :)

    Cheers,

    John

    by Alex Wasserman on 2018-12-14
    This has become the go-to tool for user enablement. Can't imagine running JIRA without it now. This powers almost every project we have in a variety of different ways. Without needing any engagement from my JIRA admin team project admins can automate just about every task they have. On top of being a great plug-in, the support team are consistently the best of the many plug-ins we have. Answers to questions are always <24 hours, with actionable responses and useful recommendations; they've pushed bug fixes out in days for us as well. Really great support.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hi Alex,

    Thanks so much for the review and the kind words! I'm glad you are enjoying it and getting so much use out of it.

    Best of luck in the New Year :)

    John

    by Jimmy Van on 2018-12-12
    Critical tool for any enterprise instance of Jira. Automates simple tasks for system admins and conveniently provides automation capability for team leads (project admins), so no need to annoy sysadmins. :) Performs at scale on DC instances of all sizes, and always getting better. Super support to boot! Highly recommend, 11/10 :)
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hey Jimmy,

    thanks so much for the amazing review! Thanks also for using Automation so widely.

    Cheers,

    John & the team

    by Ramin Ghanbari on 2018-11-26
    This plugin is just amazing
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel Pty Ltd

    Hey Ramin,

    thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. I hope you continue to enjoy it :)

    Cheers,

    John

    by Athena Petridou on 2017-09-07
    Great support, great plugin, true time-saving!
    Was this review helpful?YesNo

    Cloud Pricing

    Server Pricing

    Data Center Pricing

    10 users$1025 users$2550 users$100100 users$250250 users$750500 & upAdditional pricing details
    50 users$100/year100 users$250/year250 users$750/year500 users$1,250/year750 users$2,000/year1000 & upAdditional pricing details
    Up to 10 users
    $5
    monthly flat fee
    Free 30 day trial
    11 - 100 users
    $2.5
    per user/month
    Free 30 day trial

    Pricing FAQ

    How does cloud app pricing work?

    Cloud apps are sold as a monthly or annual subscription. You are eligible for support and automatic version updates as long as your subscription is active.

    When your subscription renews each month, you are automatically billed for apps based on the number of users in your instance.

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my cloud pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. Jira Cloud apps are priced based on the maximum users of the Jira products on your instance. For example, if you have Jira Software (50 users) and Jira Service Desk (10 agents) on the same instance, you pay the 50-user price for apps.Note: While this app has features specific to Jira Service Desk, the app is technically available across the whole Jira instance. Therefore the above guidelines for licensing across maximum users still apply.

    The pricing structure for cloud apps is as follows:

    • Monthly subscriptions with up to 10 Atlassian product users are billed at a flat rate price.
    • Monthly subscriptions with more than 10 users are billed per user, starting at the first user.
    • Monthly subscriptions with more than 100 users are billed per user. The table above provides example pricing at various user levels.

    If you've opted for annual billing for your Atlassian product, apps are also billed annually at a discount (12 months for the price of 10).

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for cloud apps?

    Academic, community and open source licenses are not available for cloud apps.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For cloud apps, you cannot extend your free evaluation period. All cloud apps are immediately subscribed by a user, and we provide a free evaluation period. This is a minimum of 30 days and ends on the second billing cycle after you first subscribe to the app.

    Pricing FAQ

    How does server app pricing work?

    Server products and apps are hosted on your servers. This app is sold as a perpetual license, and the purchase price includes 12 months of maintenance (support and version updates).

    You can renew maintenance after 12 months at 50% of the current purchase price. You can upgrade the tier of your Atlassian product and app licenses at any time. Upgrade prices are calculated based on Atlassian's formula (view example).

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my server pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. For Jira 7.0 or later, the app tier should match the maximum tier of the licensed Jira products on your instance. For example, if you're running Jira Software (500 users) and Jira Service Desk (25 agents) on the same instance, you should purchase the 500-user tier for apps. For versions of Jira prior to 7.0, the app tier should match the licensed user tier for Jira. Even if fewer users want to use the app than your Jira license, the two licenses should match exactly. Note: While this app has features specific to Jira Service Desk, the app is technically available across the whole Jira instance. Therefore the above guidelines for the license tier still apply.

    Can I install this app in a Data Center product?

    Yes, this app has a Data Center approved version. If you're using a Data Center product, you should install the Data Center version of the app.

    Learn more about Data Center approved apps

    What type of license do I need if I'm using this app in a Data Center product?

    Because this app has a Data Center approved version, you should purchase a Data Center license for the app.

    If you already own a server license for this app, you can continue using the server license in your Data Center product for a limited period of time.

    Learn more about Data Center licensing

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for server apps?

    For server apps, academic licenses are available at a 50% discount if you have an academic license for your Atlassian product.

    Community and open-source licenses are available for server apps. Learn more about community and open source licenses.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For server apps, you can extend your app trial up to 5 times - in other words, for up to six months. Extend your trial by generating a new evaluation license key from Atlassian Marketplace. Click Try it free and you'll be directed to generate a new license. Paste this license key into the app listing in UPM from your Atlassian product, and you're all set.

    How can I buy apps for my legacy Jira Server or Confluence Server license?

    If you own a legacy Jira Server Unlimited (100+ users) or Confluence Server Unlimited (2000+ users) license purchased in 2012 or earlier, legacy app pricing is no longer available. You have two options for app purchasing:

    • Purchase the app at the non-legacy Unlimited (10000+ users) tier.
    • Renew your Jira or Confluence license at a non-legacy tier, then purchase the app at the same tier.

    Learn more

    Pricing FAQ

    How does Data Center app pricing work?

    Data Center apps are sold as an annual subscription. You are eligible for support and version updates as long as your subscription is active.

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my Data Center pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. For Jira 7.0 or later, the app tier should match the maximum tier of the licensed Jira products on your instance. For example, if you're running Jira Software (500 users) and Jira Service Desk (25 agents) on the same instance, you should purchase the 500-user tier for apps. For versions of Jira prior to 7.0, the app tier should match the licensed user tier for Jira. Even if fewer users want to use the app than your Jira license, the two licenses should match exactly. Note: While this app has features specific to Jira Service Desk, the app is technically available across the whole Jira instance. Therefore the above guidelines for the license tier still apply.

    Can I install this app in a Data Center product?

    Yes, this app has a Data Center approved version. If you're using a Data Center product, you should install the Data Center version of the app.

    Learn more about Data Center approved apps

    What type of license do I need if I'm using this app in a Data Center product?

    Because this app has a Data Center approved version, you should purchase a Data Center license for the app.

    If you already own a server license for this app, you can continue using the server license in your Data Center product for a limited period of time.

    Learn more about Data Center licensing

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for Data Center apps?

    For Data Center apps, academic licenses are available at a 50% discount if you have an academic license for your Atlassian product.

    Community and open-source licenses are not available for Data Center apps. Learn more about community and open source licenses.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For Data Center apps, you can extend your app trial up to 5 times - in other words, for up to six months. Extend your trial by generating a new evaluation license key from Atlassian Marketplace. Click Try it free and you'll be directed to generate a new license. Paste this license key into the app listing in UPM from your Atlassian product, and you're all set.

    Code Barrel Pty Ltd is a  Top Vendor, committed to providing support for their apps at least 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    Code Barrel Pty Ltd is a  Top Vendor, committed to providing support for their apps at least 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    Code Barrel Pty Ltd is a  Top Vendor, committed to providing support for their apps at least 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Versions

    Jira Cloud Released 2019-08-08

    Summary

    Minor version update

    Details

    Minor version update

    Versions

    Version 6.0.6 Jira Server 7.4.0 - 8.3.2 Released 2019-08-16

    Summary

    Various bug fixes and improvements

    Details

    Issues fixed in this release:

    • AUT-1645 - NullPointer when asking for Request Type for non Service Desk issues
    • AUT-1533 - Using smart value to set the Fix Version field in Create issue action after trigger a rule when a Version is created

    Versions

    Version 6.0.6 Jira Data Center 7.4.0 - 8.3.2 Released 2019-08-16

    Summary

    Various bug fixes and improvements

    Details

    Issues fixed in this release:

    • AUT-1645 - NullPointer when asking for Request Type for non Service Desk issues
    • AUT-1533 - Using smart value to set the Fix Version field in Create issue action after trigger a rule when a Version is created

    Installation

    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Atlassian Marketplace. The Manage add-ons screen loads.
    3. Click Find new apps or Find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page.
    4. Locate Automation for Jira via search. The appropriate app version appears in the search results.
    5. Click Try free to begin a new trial or Buy now to purchase a license for Automation for Jira. You're prompted to log into MyAtlassian. Automation for Jira begins to download.
    6. Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
    7. Click Apply license. If you're using an older version of UPM, you can copy and paste the license into your Jira instance.

    To find older Automation for Jira versions compatible with your instance, you can look through our version history page.

    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Add-ons. The Find new apps or Find new add-ons screen loads.
    3. Locate Automation for Jira.
    4. Click Free trial to download and install your app.
    5. You're all set! Click Close in the Installed and ready to go dialog.
    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Atlassian Marketplace. The Manage add-ons screen loads.
    3. Click Find new apps or Find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page.
    4. Locate Automation for Jira via search. The appropriate app version appears in the search results.
    5. Click Try free to begin a new trial or Buy now to purchase a license for Automation for Jira. You're prompted to log into MyAtlassian. Automation for Jira begins to download.
    6. Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
    7. Click Apply license. If you're using an older version of UPM, you can copy and paste the license into your Jira instance.

    To find older Automation for Jira versions compatible with your instance, you can look through our version history page.

    Similar apps