11,747
Customers have installed this app in at least 11,747 active instances.
11,747
Customers have installed this app in at least 11,747 active instances.
11,747
Customers have installed this app in at least 11,747 active instances.
    by Code Barrel, an Atlassian companyTop Vendor
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company is a Top Vendor.  Top Vendors have high standards for app quality, reliability, and support.

    Learn more

    for Jira Cloud, Jira Server 7.7.0 - 8.5.1, Jira Data Center 7.7.0 - 8.5.1 and more versions
    Versions available for Jira Server 7.0.0 - 7.6.17
    Jira Data Center 7.3.0 - 7.6.17
    Supported
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company supports this app.

    Get support

    Jira Service Desk
    This app is compatible with Jira Service Desk.
    Supported
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company supports this app.

    Get support

    Jira Service Desk
    This app is compatible with Jira Service Desk.
    Supported
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company supports this app.

    Get support

    Jira Service Desk
    This app is compatible with Jira Service Desk.

    Automation for Jira - the simple way to automate & extend Jira. All power, no scripts

    Automation for Jira - the simple way to automate & extend Jira. All power, no scripts

    Automation for Jira - the simple way to automate & extend Jira. All power, no scripts

    Simple automation for everyone

    All-in-one powerful solution

    Customise and extend Jira

    Save time and stress by automating Jira. No need to write or manage custom scripts. Anyone can configure powerful automation rules easily with Automation for Jira's visual rule builder.

    Try it out in our Rule Playground!

    Do more with Jira! Combine simple building blocks in endlessly powerful ways. No need for multiple apps. 1000s of supported use cases include: synchronize parent and sub-tasks, track SLAs, act on linked issues and more.

    "Jira on steroids" ... according to our customers! More than just an automation tool, this Jira plugin allows simple customisation and extension all in one nifty solution.

    Simple automation for everyone

    All-in-one powerful solution

    Built to Scale

    Save time and stress by automating Jira. No need to write or manage custom scripts. Anyone can configure powerful automation rules easily with Automation for Jira's visual rule builder.

    Try it out in our Rule Playground!

    Do more with Jira! Combine simple building blocks in endlessly powerful ways. No need for multiple apps. 1000s of supported use cases include: synchronize parent and sub-tasks, track SLAs, act on linked issues and more.

    7 out of the top 10 Fortune 500 companies use Automation for Jira (We're still working on the other 3!) Improve efficiencies and automate repetitive, manual tasks so you can focus on the bigger things!

    Simple automation for everyone

    All-in-one powerful solution

    Built to Scale

    Save time and stress by automating Jira. No need to write or manage custom scripts. Anyone can configure powerful automation rules easily with our visual rule builder.

    Try it out in our Rule Playground!

    Do more with Jira! Combine simple building blocks in endlessly powerful ways. No need for multiple apps. 1000s of supported use cases include: sync parent and sub-tasks, track SLAs, act on linked issues and many more.

    7 out of the top 10 Fortune 500 companies use Automation for Jira (We're still trying to get the other 3!). Improve efficiencies and automate repetitive, manual tasks so you can focus on joining the Fortune 500!

    More details

    ***Code Barrel has been acquired by Atlassian!

    "Automation for Jira has replaced a lot of 3rd party post functions and scripting add-ons for me. It can do so much without any of the code. As a consultant this lets me leave much more maintainable solutions for my clients who prefer not to code and gets my work done in much less time" Michael, May 2019

    Highlights

    • Customize and automate Jira your way - no need for custom scripts
    • Automates manual, repetitive tasks so you can focus on twhat's important
    • 3rd Party Integrations including SMS, Slack, Email, Webhooks, Microsoft Teams and more
    • Exceptional customer support from a team with over 40 years of Jira experience.

    Popular use cases

    See how easy it is to set up your own rules with our Rule Playground!

    Any questions, just email us!

    or Try it for free today!

    More details

    #Platinum Top Vendor 2019

    "It's flexible and powerful, but somehow remains simple and uncomplicated to use. Coupled with a regular release cycle and fantastic support, I hope to never run Jira again without this" Haddon Fisher, March 2019

    Join over 20,000 happy customers across 150 countries who are now automating their teams easily.

    Highlights

    • Any global or project admin (with permissions) can set up rules that will save your company time and money. No need to write custom scripts or battle Jira's APIs.
    • Automation for Jira combines the functionality of dozens of individual apps with the added ease of a visual rule builder.
    • Secure and optimised for server performance. Read more about how we manage your performance here.

    Developed and supported by a bunch of former Atlassians, we listen and build with our customers in mind.

    See how easy it is to set up your own rules with our Rule Playground.

    Any questions - just email!

    support@automationforjira.com

    or Try it for free today!

    More details

    #Platinum Top Vendor 2019

    "Performs at scale on Data Center instances of all sizes, and always getting better. Super support to boot! Highly recommend, 11/10" - by Jimmy Van, December 2018

    Join more than 20,000 happy customers across 150 countries who are automating their daily tasks easily.

    Highlights:

    • Any global or project admin can set up rules that will save your company time and money. No need to write custom scripts or work with Jira's APIs.
    • Combines the functionality of multiple apps with the ease of a simple visual rule builder.
    • Secure and optimized for reliable server performance as your organisation scales.
    • Clever load distribution to ensure optimal server performance.
    • Exceptional customer support from a team with over 40 years of Jira experience.

    Automation for Jira is an Atlassian Data Center Approved app. This means we maintain a consistent, high level performance for any organisation.

    Any questions - just email!

    support@automationforjira.com

    or Try it for free today!

    Reviews for cloud

    (244)
    Sign in to write a review
    by Alex Laycy on 2019-12-09
    Absolute must have for JIRA that enables complex workflows, time saving and additional integration with 3rd paty tools / systems via Webhooks and JSON.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Alex,

    thanks a lot for the lovely review. Hopefully we can provide you even more value in the coming years :)

    Cheers,

    John and the Automation team

    by Dean Sellis on 2019-11-26
    This is pretty amazing. It adds essential functionality for automation in Jira that can massively improve your productivity.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hey Dean,

    thanks very much for the review! As ever, just give a shout if you have any questions.

    Cheers,

    John & the Automation Team

    by Sistemas Imagina on 2019-11-25
    Essential for every Jira setup. Wish it was part of the Jira software instead of a plugin.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Sistemas,

    thanks for the 4 stars. Really appreciate the feedback :)

    John and the Automation Team

    by Dindo Perea on 2019-11-21
    I have been using Automation for Jira for several years now and have always recommended it as a must-have app in Jira. Apart from its very powerful features, A4J boasts of wonderful people who provide excellent support to my questions. Code Barrel deserves all the accolades that users across the globe share. Cheers! Doods
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Dindo,

    many thanks for all the recommendations and especially the kind comments about the team! We share all reviews on our Slack channel so everyone appreciates the kind words :)

    Any questions, as ever, just fire them though!

    John and the Automation Team

    by Andy Nguyen on 2019-11-20
    Powerful, user-friendly, and easy to maintain. I like the idea of smart values - makes things seemingly impossible become possible.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Andy,

    thanks for the lovely review. Yep, the Smart Values have so much power. We have grand plans to make them even easier to incorporate down the line.

    Cheers,

    John and the Automation Team

    Reviews for server

    (244)
    Sign in to write a review
    by edwin vasquez on 2019-12-04
    Very easy to use and provides much needed customizable automation. Lots of things that are easily automated and you can add tons of functionality to the app with this. Very useful add on!
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hey Edwin,

    thanks very much for the great review! Much appreciated :)

    John and the Automation team

    by Justin Alex Paramanandan [IAG] on 2019-11-24
    How do you extend JSD automations provided out of the box? Why, by installing Automation for Jira, of course! This app has provided lots of automation for our user's business needs, and it's only getting better. Paired this with ScriptRunner for Jira, and we have a reduced our support time tremendously when the tool performs project and space creations, as well as provide automated answers to our users.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Justin,

    I love your review! It reads like a late-night TV Ad!

    Agree also that it works nicely with Scriptrunner (whether separately or with the integration)

    We really appreciate you taking the time to leave this review and feedback.

    Cheers,

    John and the Automation Team

    by Fabian Lim on 2019-11-19
    Most user friendly plugin to automate tasks for Jira Software and Jira Service Desk. We just purchased it in our organization and it has helped our Service Desk run smoothly. It has more features than the built-in service desk automation module.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Fabian,

    thanks for the 4 stars. Really appreciate the feedback and I am glad it is making your JSD run smoothly :)

    Cheers,

    John and the Automation Team

    by Alexander Pappert on 2019-11-05
    Great Addon to automate different Tasks. We started with the free Version, later we upgraded to the full vervion because is has more features. The documantation is also very helpful.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Alexander,

    many thanks for taking the time to leave a 4 star review. We put a lot of work into those Docs so I am glad you find them useful :)

    Cheers,

    John and the Automation Team

    by Debbie Saldana on 2019-10-13
    Jira Automation is an outstanding tool! In my experience, it is very robust and reliable. I use it for many purposes including sending notification emails out when new records of certain issue types are created.
    1 out of 1 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Debbie,

    Thanks so much for your review! It's always nice to hear how Automation for Jira is helping solve customer pain points. :)

    Cheers,

    Jane and the team

    Reviews for Data Center

    (244)
    Sign in to write a review
    by Jimmy Van on 2019-12-05
    Best app on the marketplace, essential for any enterprise Jira instance. Performance at scale, with per project administrations to delegate responsibilities down to the team (project) level
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hey Jimmy,

    good to hear from you! Thanks for the lovely review. I'm glad you have been getting such good use out of Automation for Jira. Nice summary of its capabilities too :)

    Just give a shout if you ever have questions.

    Cheers,

    John and the Automation team

    by Silvia Saeta on 2019-01-29
    Excellent addon, it helps us to model automations that are impossible without making scripts, it makes the work in the tool much easier. Thank you!
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hey Silvia,

    thanks very much for the kind review. Glad you are enjoying using Automation :)

    Cheers,

    John

    by Alex Wasserman on 2018-12-14
    This has become the go-to tool for user enablement. Can't imagine running JIRA without it now. This powers almost every project we have in a variety of different ways. Without needing any engagement from my JIRA admin team project admins can automate just about every task they have. On top of being a great plug-in, the support team are consistently the best of the many plug-ins we have. Answers to questions are always <24 hours, with actionable responses and useful recommendations; they've pushed bug fixes out in days for us as well. Really great support.
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hi Alex,

    Thanks so much for the review and the kind words! I'm glad you are enjoying it and getting so much use out of it.

    Best of luck in the New Year :)

    John

    by Jimmy Van (GLiNTECH) on 2018-12-12
    Critical tool for any enterprise instance of Jira. Automates simple tasks for system admins and conveniently provides automation capability for team leads (project admins), so no need to annoy sysadmins. :) Performs at scale on DC instances of all sizes, and always getting better. Super support to boot! Highly recommend, 11/10 :)
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hey Jimmy,

    thanks so much for the amazing review! Thanks also for using Automation so widely.

    Cheers,

    John & the team

    by Ramin Ghanbari on 2018-11-26
    This plugin is just amazing
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company

    Hey Ramin,

    thanks very much for taking the time to leave such a nice review. I hope you continue to enjoy it :)

    Cheers,

    John

    Cloud Pricing

    Server Pricing

    Data Center Pricing

    10 users$1025 users$2550 users$100100 users$250250 users$750500 & upAdditional pricing details
    50 users$10/year100 users$370/year250 users$925/year500 users$1,850/year750 users$2,625/year1000 & upAdditional pricing details
    Up to 10 users
    $5
    monthly flat fee
    Free 30 day trial
    11 - 100 users
    $2.5
    per user/month
    Free 30 day trial

    Pricing FAQ

    How does cloud app pricing work?

    Cloud apps are sold as a monthly or annual subscription. You are eligible for support and automatic version updates as long as your subscription is active.

    When your subscription renews each month, you are automatically billed for apps based on the number of users in your instance.

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my cloud pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. Jira Cloud apps are priced based on the maximum users of the Jira products on your instance. For example, if you have Jira Software (50 users) and Jira Service Desk (10 agents) on the same instance, you pay the 50-user price for apps.Note: While this app has features specific to Jira Service Desk, the app is technically available across the whole Jira instance. Therefore the above guidelines for licensing across maximum users still apply.

    The pricing structure for cloud apps is as follows:

    • Monthly subscriptions with up to 10 Atlassian product users are billed at a flat rate price.
    • Monthly subscriptions with more than 10 users are billed per user, starting at the first user.
    • Monthly subscriptions with more than 100 users are billed per user. The table above provides example pricing at various user levels.

    Annual subscriptions may offer a discount depending on the number of users purchased.

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for cloud apps?

    Academic, community and open source licenses are not available for cloud apps.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For cloud apps, you cannot extend your free evaluation period. All cloud apps are immediately subscribed by a user, and we provide a free evaluation period. This is a minimum of 30 days and ends on the second billing cycle after you first subscribe to the app.

    Pricing FAQ

    How does server app pricing work?

    Server products and apps are hosted on your servers. This app is sold as a perpetual license, and the purchase price includes 12 months of maintenance (support and version updates).

    You can renew maintenance after 12 months at 50% of the current purchase price. You can upgrade the tier of your Atlassian product and app licenses at any time. Upgrade prices are calculated based on Atlassian's formula (view example).

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my server pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. For Jira 7.0 or later, the app tier should match the maximum tier of the licensed Jira products on your instance. For example, if you're running Jira Software (500 users) and Jira Service Desk (25 agents) on the same instance, you should purchase the 500-user tier for apps. For versions of Jira prior to 7.0, the app tier should match the licensed user tier for Jira. Even if fewer users want to use the app than your Jira license, the two licenses should match exactly. Note: While this app has features specific to Jira Service Desk, the app is technically available across the whole Jira instance. Therefore the above guidelines for the license tier still apply.

    Can I install this app in a Data Center product?

    Yes, this app has a Data Center approved version. If you're using a Data Center product, you should install the Data Center version of the app.

    Learn more about Data Center approved apps

    What type of license do I need if I'm using this app in a Data Center product?

    Because this app has a Data Center approved version, you should purchase a Data Center license for the app.

    If you already own a server license for this app, you can continue using the server license in your Data Center product for a limited period of time.

    Learn more about Data Center licensing

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for server apps?

    For server apps, academic licenses are available at a 50% discount if you have an academic license for your Atlassian product.

    Community and open-source licenses are available for server apps. Learn more about community and open source licenses.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For server apps, you can extend your app trial up to 5 times - in other words, for up to six months. Extend your trial by generating a new evaluation license key from Atlassian Marketplace. Click Try it free and you'll be directed to generate a new license. Paste this license key into the app listing in UPM from your Atlassian product, and you're all set.

    How can I buy apps for my legacy Jira Server or Confluence Server license?

    If you own a legacy Jira Server Unlimited (100+ users) or Confluence Server Unlimited (2000+ users) license purchased in 2012 or earlier, legacy app pricing is no longer available. You have two options for app purchasing:

    • Purchase the app at the non-legacy Unlimited (10000+ users) tier.
    • Renew your Jira or Confluence license at a non-legacy tier, then purchase the app at the same tier.

    Learn more

    Pricing FAQ

    How does Data Center app pricing work?

    Data Center apps are sold as an annual subscription. You are eligible for support and version updates as long as your subscription is active.

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my Data Center pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. For Jira 7.0 or later, the app tier should match the maximum tier of the licensed Jira products on your instance. For example, if you're running Jira Software (500 users) and Jira Service Desk (25 agents) on the same instance, you should purchase the 500-user tier for apps. For versions of Jira prior to 7.0, the app tier should match the licensed user tier for Jira. Even if fewer users want to use the app than your Jira license, the two licenses should match exactly. Note: While this app has features specific to Jira Service Desk, the app is technically available across the whole Jira instance. Therefore the above guidelines for the license tier still apply.

    Can I install this app in a Data Center product?

    Yes, this app has a Data Center approved version. If you're using a Data Center product, you should install the Data Center version of the app.

    Learn more about Data Center approved apps

    What type of license do I need if I'm using this app in a Data Center product?

    Because this app has a Data Center approved version, you should purchase a Data Center license for the app.

    If you already own a server license for this app, you can continue using the server license in your Data Center product for a limited period of time.

    Learn more about Data Center licensing

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for Data Center apps?

    For Data Center apps, academic licenses are available at a 50% discount if you have an academic license for your Atlassian product.

    Community and open-source licenses are not available for Data Center apps. Learn more about community and open source licenses.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For Data Center apps, you can extend your app trial up to 5 times - in other words, for up to six months. Extend your trial by generating a new evaluation license key from Atlassian Marketplace. Click Try it free and you'll be directed to generate a new license. Paste this license key into the app listing in UPM from your Atlassian product, and you're all set.

    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company is a  Top Vendor, committed to providing support for their apps at least 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company is a  Top Vendor, committed to providing support for their apps at least 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    Code Barrel, an Atlassian company is a  Top Vendor, committed to providing support for their apps at least 8 hours a day, 5 days a week.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Versions

    Jira Cloud Released 2019-11-11

    Summary

    Minor version update

    Details

    Minor version update

    Versions

    Version 7.0.2 Jira Server 7.7.0 - 8.5.1 Released 2019-12-05

    Summary

    Various bug fixes and improvements

    Details

    Issues fixed in this release:

    • AUT-1805 - Import rules is not working in cloud
    • AUT-1799 - Content type header checking should not be case sensitive for the web request response handling
    • AUT-1777 - Ability to access sprint goal via smart value (for issue)

    Versions

    Version 7.0.2 Jira Data Center 7.7.0 - 8.5.1 Released 2019-12-05

    Summary

    Various bug fixes and improvements

    Details

    Issues fixed in this release:

    • AUT-1805 - Import rules is not working in cloud
    • AUT-1799 - Content type header checking should not be case sensitive for the web request response handling
    • AUT-1777 - Ability to access sprint goal via smart value (for issue)

    Installation

    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Atlassian Marketplace. The Manage add-ons screen loads.
    3. Click Find new apps or Find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page.
    4. Locate Automation for Jira via search. The appropriate app version appears in the search results.
    5. Click Try free to begin a new trial or Buy now to purchase a license for Automation for Jira. You're prompted to log into MyAtlassian. Automation for Jira begins to download.
    6. Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
    7. Click Apply license. If you're using an older version of UPM, you can copy and paste the license into your Jira instance.

    To find older Automation for Jira versions compatible with your instance, you can look through our version history page.

    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Add-ons. The Find new apps or Find new add-ons screen loads.
    3. Locate Automation for Jira.
    4. Click Free trial to download and install your app.
    5. You're all set! Click Close in the Installed and ready to go dialog.
    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Atlassian Marketplace. The Manage add-ons screen loads.
    3. Click Find new apps or Find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page.
    4. Locate Automation for Jira via search. The appropriate app version appears in the search results.
    5. Click Try free to begin a new trial or Buy now to purchase a license for Automation for Jira. You're prompted to log into MyAtlassian. Automation for Jira begins to download.
    6. Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
    7. Click Apply license. If you're using an older version of UPM, you can copy and paste the license into your Jira instance.

    To find older Automation for Jira versions compatible with your instance, you can look through our version history page.

    Similar apps