by Atlassianfor Jira Server 7.12.0 - 8.12.2, Jira Data Center 7.12.0 - 8.12.2 and more versions
    Versions available for Jira Server 6.0 - 7.11.2
    Jira Data Center 7.2.0 - 7.11.2
    Supported
    Atlassian supports this app.

    Get support

    Supported
    Atlassian supports this app.

    Get support

    The agile roadmapping app, built for Jira Software - available on Cloud as part of Jira Software Premium

    The agile roadmapping app, built for Jira Software - available on Cloud as part of Jira Software Premium

    The agile roadmapping app, built for Jira Software - available on Cloud as part of Jira Software Premium

    Track the big picture across teams

    Forecast delivery timelines

    Get ahead of dependencies

    Create a strategic roadmap and track progress against your goals. With filters and saved views, see the snapshot you need based on real-time data from Jira.

    Understand the scope of your teams' work. Auto-schedule your issues or plan manually. Create multiple versions of your roadmap to account for different options or best and worst case scenarios.

    Track dependencies across multiple teams and projects to get ahead of bottlenecks and blockers that could impact how quickly work gets done.

    Track the big picture across teams

    Forecast delivery timelines

    Get ahead of dependencies

    Create a strategic roadmap and track progress against your goals. With filters and saved views, see the snapshot you need based on real-time data from Jira.

    Understand the scope of your teams' work. Auto-schedule your issues or plan manually. Create multiple versions of your roadmap to account for different options or best and worst case scenarios.

    Track dependencies across multiple teams and projects to get ahead of bottlenecks and blockers that could impact how quickly work gets done.

    More details

    Made by Atlassian and specifically built to work with Jira Software.

    Advanced Roadmaps for Jira helps you build a plan, see the big picture, track progress, and easily share with stakeholders.

    Check out some of our helpful resources for getting started:

    Looking for Advanced Roadmaps on Cloud? It’s available as part of Jira Software Cloud Premium. Learn more.

    More details

    Made by Atlassian and specifically built to work with Jira Software.

    Advanced Roadmaps for Jira helps you build a plan, see the big picture, track progress, and easily share with stakeholders.

    Check out some of our helpful resources for getting started:

    Looking for Advanced Roadmaps on Cloud? It’s available as part of Jira Software Cloud Premium. Learn more.

    Reviews for cloud

    (189)
    Sign in to write a review
    by Stacey King on 2020-02-03
    Does anyone know if/when the Program feature will be brought into Portfolio for Cloud? I cannot believe they dont have this available and are charging what they are for this. That is probably one of the most critical features for me and my teams.
    9 out of 10 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Gaurav Hardikar on 2019-10-04
    I really tried to like Portfolio, but it seems that all of the new features are going to the JIRA server version, not cloud. Unfortunate, as the new planning experience would have made a huge difference for our company. The current version on the cloud is completely unintuitive. I would suggest not bifurcating the experience between platforms like this -- it causes much confusion, and for what reason?
    35 out of 35 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Matthew James on 2019-07-29
    Very Average product at an above average price. We trialled this and it seemed ok. It is frustrating to attempt to get a Realistic looking GANTT style chart out of anything though. You basically have to go through EVERY issue and set the issue relationships for anything to work. I wouldn't pay for this. The pricing is ridiculous this is used by managers only , but you have to pay for everyone in your team... It really should be a free part of JIRA due to it really not performing as it should.
    36 out of 36 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Dominik Meier on 2019-04-12
    Okayish for project status reporting and to get a capacity overview but not at all usable as portfolio planning tool. The scheduling algorithm is a real pain and totally unusable. For instance, I'd expect it to accept fixed release dates and do everything to meet those dates, but instead it will just schedule tasks from some less important project without telling me why and then go on about me missing a release deadline... Apart from being able to enter release dates, which the system ignores, you can specify target dates for each task. But again this is purely informational and the actual schedule dates will have nothing to do with the dates you intend to have for your project plan. I also find it inconvenient that you are not allowed to perform any overstaffing. We work on both support and projects which at a rate of 50:50 would give us a ~20h project availability per person and week. However, due to deadlines with a 40h task it may be decided for a person to do no support this week, finish the project task, and catch up with support the next week. This cannot be done with Portfolio. It will stretch the task over two weeks and you cannot do anything about it. A lot of these issues could be solved if you were at least allowed to manually override some of the scheduling decisions.
    22 out of 22 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Stefan on 2019-04-02
    Used this plugin in a SAFe like environemnt and it causes PO frustration as they have to wrap their heads around two statemachines. It should have provided overview and clarity to inhouse customers but at the end we still have to maitain additional MS Project plans to really see a critical path. My advice: Use Jira for proper team level work organization and keep this in good sahpe plus have a proper plan on product manager level. (not in Jira.)
    14 out of 14 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo

    Reviews for server

    (189)
    Sign in to write a review
    by Jason Winger on 2020-09-02
    What a giant leap backward! Portfolio Live View was a great planning tool that covered planning, team and team member capacity, timelines, stages, skills, and so much more. Then the "new and improved" interface came in and removed nearly all of the key features that we were using on a regular basis. The new interface is clunky and not user friendly. Again, a giant leap backward. Using an Agile analogy, this is like going from a fully functional car to a skateboard. The "new and improved" or "Advanced" roadmaps takes this from a 4-star product to a 1-star product. If Atlassian decides to remove the Live Plan interface from this plugin, we will have to look for a new solution. This isn't even an MVP solution. They have added the words new, improved, and advanced to the product name without any actual benefit to the consumer.
    6 out of 6 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Anoop Garg on 2020-06-04
    One of the worst product i have ever used. It is so buggy that i can't believe how an organization can really call such a product as shippable to customers. Every day i find new set of bugs and interestingly Atlasssian has no roadmap for those issues. Doesn't deserve even a single star...
    9 out of 11 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Alex Alex on 2019-12-21
    Where support 8.5.2?
    1 out of 1 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Atlassian

    Hey Alexander,

    Portfolio has had support for 8.5.x versions since 3.11 (released 23rd September) and we currently support versions 7.70 - 8.6.1.

    If you're having issues with Jira compatibility please reach out to our support team via https://support.atlassian.com/ so they can investigate your issue.

    Kind regards,

    Rhys | Product Manager

    by Davin Studer on 2019-11-04
    Works great and gives us great current sprint and cross team project visibility. It's nice to be able to roll up team portfolios to an upper management portfolio to give them visibility into what all is going and how progress is being made.
    2 out of 2 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Atlassian

    Hi Davin,

    Thanks so much for your kind words, we're glad you're liking it!

    Roi | Product Manager

    by Germán Rojas on 2019-09-23
    when you release a portfolio 3.0 for cloud ?
    2 out of 2 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Atlassian

    Hi German,

    Thanks for your feedback, we are working hard to provide the best experience for all of our customers, regardless of their deployment option. Please stay tuned for future announcements.

    Roi | Product Manager

    Reviews for Data Center

    (189)
    Sign in to write a review
    by christopher.fry@faa.gov on 2020-06-25
    We are finding this to be very useful so far for use. The ability to plan multiple scenarios, create different views, visualize live feeds in Confluence for stakeholders (allowing us to add context to the plan) are just some of the items we are using. I hope Atlassian continues to invest in this and grow the features and capabilities.
    1 out of 1 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Francis Lowry on 2017-09-03
    Does not work with Jira core
    14 out of 17 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    by Richard Whitehead on 2017-08-07
    I found this very confusing to use, possibly because we are using the Software Development Issue Scheme, not an agile scheme. It was very confusing what was a task and subtask. Initially it scheduled everything at once, even though people were assigned to individual tasks, it ignored this. I had to assign each task to a person again in the chart. The “Gantt like chart” is not a Gantt chart, and I found it confusing because each row could contain multiple tasks, for different people. The Gantt chart is industry standard for good reason, it tells you what you want to know; if some developer thought they could improve on it, they were wrong.
    9 out of 12 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Atlassian

    Hi Richard,

    Thank you for providing your feedback on Portfolio for JIRA. We'd be more than happy to provide any support necessary to troubleshoot your Portfolio plan - please don't hesitate to reach out directly: bdavies@atlassian.com. Looking forward to speaking with you.

    All the best,

    Bree

    by jerry.bracke on 2017-07-12
    I was one of the early JIRA Portfolio adopters and in retrospect it was one of the worst purchases I have ever done in my entire life, I'm not exaggerating. Years of hoping this product would come to mature and telling myself "wait, it's just a phase", I have to come to the conclusion this tool will never come to it's right. Although the idea behind the tool is good, the execution of it is appalling. In use it feels rigid, limited and with zero regard to the end-user. The usability is disastrous. Just try to move the order of the columns in the overview; it is impossible. Just try to navigate to an issue, it takes you a few clicks (too many) Such simple, simple features and enhancements. One of the fallacies of the product management of this tooling is they keep on adding new big features to this product, but completely disregarding getting the basic functioning in order. I'm a big fan of Atlassian and JIRA, but my thumbs down for this. one. I'm so sorry. Wish we could get a refund for all those wasted years never ever being able to use this tool.
    46 out of 46 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Atlassian

    Hi Jerry, I'm very sorry to hear this. We are committed to improving the experience of Portfolio - it is a major focus for us now and into the immediate future. I'd be more than happy to discuss your frustrations with you in more detail and offer any support necessary for you, please feel free to contact me directly - bdavies@atlassian.com if you'd like to talk further. Kind Regards, Bree | Portfolio for JIRA PM

    by Virginia Knight on 2017-06-29
    My Product Owners absolutely HATE using this product, and many of them have resorted to using spreadsheets and PowerPoint to communicate progress rather than fight with this tool. On this basis alone, I would give it less than 1 star. However, it does technically do all the things that it says it does, and as far as I can tell, there is no other plugin on the Marketplace that does these things, hence the 2 stars. The interface is clunky, and I find it not as pretty or polished as other tools. I can deal with that especially if the tool is relatively easy to use once you figure out where things are. But it's not. Atlassian mentions below that there is a "powerful" scheduling algorithm that needs to be well-understood to maximize the effectiveness of the tool. This understanding is CRUCIAL. Let me say it again. CRUCIAL. Otherwise, you will spend hours with each plan trying to understand why the changes you made took no effect. For example, you can set a story to start no earlier than August 1, but if its assigned to a release that can start on July 1, your setting is ignored, your story will start on July 1, and you get no helpful message to explain why. There are a number of non-intuitive things that happen like this. I wrote up a 5 page FAQ for my users explaining all of the things that may go wrong and how to fix them in their plans. For a $6000 app, I should NOT have to do that. Atlassian, in case you're listening, here's my advice to you: (1) Charge less for this thing in its current iteration, or make it awesome enough that it warrants the price. Because right now, it's not, and it doesn't. (2) Your scheduling algorithm might be "powerful", but it's wrong. In the case mentioned above, when would it ever be correct for a story to ignore its earliest start date just because the start date of a release occurs before it? Doesn't seem likely. (3) Even if you disagree with my assertion that the scheduling algorithm is wrong, at least pop more warnings about why user specified values are being ignored. (4) Please do something with the UI. For example, seeing the Gantt-like chart is an eye test that most of us fail. Figuring out how to include additional items in a plan took far longer than it should have. I could also make piles of suggestions for how to make working with the product a more delightful experience, but I'd settle for it not to be a bad experience. (5) It seems like you're trying to do too much with this. Pick one aspect (preferably epic and release scheduling) and make it work great and delight your users. Then charge less. And create another add-on to do the other more advanced stuff like vacation/resource management. And charge for that assuming that there is value in it. (6) If you haven't already, get your developers out in front of some of your customers who need to use this thing and watch what they do. Don't assume that just because you do software development a certain way that everyone else does too. Note that I wouldn't be so harsh in this review except that you are charging a LOT of money for this and my users hate it, not to mention that one of them hates it so much that he's writing his own app. I'm happy to correspond further about this offline if it would be helpful.
    60 out of 60 found this review helpful
    Was this review helpful?YesNo
    Atlassian

    Hey Virginia,

    Thank you for your in-depth review. We're sad to hear that you're having a negative experience with Portfolio. We acknowledge that there's a steep learning curve and some friction in the core user experience - these are areas we have a lot of room to improve.

    Addressing these usability issues, improving onboarding and making it easier for users to understand how Portfolio's scheduling works are major focus areas for us moving forward. We greatly value your feedback as we endeavour to improve these areas. If you're interested we'd be very keen to start a dialogue and schedule a call with you to get your in-depth feedback.

    We're also currently testing a new feature that provides transparency to why issues are scheduled when they're scheduled. It allows you to diagnose all the variables that impact an issue's scheduling and lets you know what the impact of those variables are. From your feedback it sounds like you'd be the perfect case to trial the effectiveness of surfacing this info. For example earliest start date shouldn't be ignored due to release start date - that's not expected behaviour. This functionality would assist to investigate the actual reason the variable was ignored (Sprint assignment should be the only case earliest start date is ignored).

    Please feel free to reach out to my email - rchristian@atlassian.com Look forward to hearing from you.

    Kind regards,

    Rhys | PM - Portfolio for JIRA

    Cloud Pricing

    Server Pricing

    Data Center Pricing

    10 users$1025 users$1,43050 users$2,620100 users$4,750250 users$9,490500 & upAdditional pricing details
    50 users$1,600/year100 users$3,000/year250 users$6,000/year500 users$8,000/year750 users$12,000/year1000 & upAdditional pricing details

    This app is available for Cloud.

    Get it now and follow the installation instructions to connect it to your Cloud instance.

    Pricing FAQ

    How does server app pricing work?

    Server products and apps are hosted on your servers. This app is sold as a perpetual license, and the purchase price includes 12 months of maintenance (support and version updates).

    You can renew maintenance after 12 months at 50% of the current purchase price. You can upgrade the tier of your Atlassian product and app licenses at any time. Upgrade prices are calculated based on Atlassian's formula (view example).

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my server pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. For Jira 7.0 or later, the app tier should match the maximum tier of the licensed Jira products on your instance. For example, if you're running Jira Software (500 users) and Jira Service Desk (25 agents) on the same instance, you should purchase the 500-user tier for apps. For versions of Jira prior to 7.0, the app tier should match the licensed user tier for Jira. Even if fewer users want to use the app than your Jira license, the two licenses should match exactly.

    Can I install this app in a Data Center product?

    Yes, this app has a Data Center approved version. If you're using a Data Center product, you should install the Data Center version of the app.

    Learn more about Data Center approved apps

    What type of license do I need if I'm using this app in a Data Center product?

    Because this app has a Data Center approved version, you should purchase a Data Center license for the app.

    If you already own a server license for this app, you can continue using the server license in your Data Center product for a limited period of time.

    Learn more about Data Center licensing

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for server apps?

    For server apps, academic licenses are available at a 50% discount if you have an academic license for your Atlassian product.

    Community and open-source licenses are available for server apps. Learn more about community and open source licenses.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For server apps, you can extend your app trial up to 5 times - in other words, for up to six months. Extend your trial by generating a new evaluation license key from Atlassian Marketplace. Click Try it free and you'll be directed to generate a new license. Paste this license key into the app listing in UPM from your Atlassian product, and you're all set.

    How can I buy apps for my legacy Jira Server or Confluence Server license?

    If you own a legacy Jira Server Unlimited (100+ users) or Confluence Server Unlimited (2000+ users) license purchased in 2012 or earlier, legacy app pricing is no longer available. You have two options for app purchasing:

    • Purchase the app at the non-legacy Unlimited (10000+ users) tier.
    • Renew your Jira or Confluence license at a non-legacy tier, then purchase the app at the same tier.

    Learn more

    Pricing FAQ

    How does Data Center app pricing work?

    Data Center apps are sold as an annual subscription. You are eligible for support and version updates as long as your subscription is active.

    If app pricing changes after your initial purchase, there's a 60-day grandfathering period during which you can renew based on the old pricing.

    How do I determine my Data Center pricing?

    Apps are billed based on the number of users in your Atlassian product. For Jira 7.0 or later, the app tier should match the maximum tier of the licensed Jira products on your instance. For example, if you're running Jira Software (500 users) and Jira Service Desk (25 agents) on the same instance, you should purchase the 500-user tier for apps. For versions of Jira prior to 7.0, the app tier should match the licensed user tier for Jira. Even if fewer users want to use the app than your Jira license, the two licenses should match exactly.

    Can I install this app in a Data Center product?

    Yes, this app has a Data Center approved version. If you're using a Data Center product, you should install the Data Center version of the app.

    Learn more about Data Center approved apps

    What type of license do I need if I'm using this app in a Data Center product?

    Because this app has a Data Center approved version, you should purchase a Data Center license for the app.

    If you already own a server license for this app, you can continue using the server license in your Data Center product for a limited period of time.

    Learn more about Data Center licensing

    Do you offer academic, community, or open-source licenses for Data Center apps?

    For Data Center apps, academic licenses are available at a 50% discount if you have an academic license for your Atlassian product.

    Community and open-source licenses are not available for Data Center apps. Learn more about community and open source licenses.

    Can I extend my free trial?

    For Data Center apps, you can extend your app trial up to 5 times - in other words, for up to six months. Extend your trial by generating a new evaluation license key from Atlassian Marketplace. Click Try it free and you'll be directed to generate a new license. Paste this license key into the app listing in UPM from your Atlassian product, and you're all set.

    Atlassian provides support for this app.

    Atlassian provides support for this app.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    Community

    Community discussions connect you to the vendor and other customers who use this app.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Vendor support resources

    Documentation

    Find out how this app works.

    Community

    Community discussions connect you to the vendor and other customers who use this app.

    See existing Q&A in Atlassian CommunityAsk a question in the Atlassian Community

    Atlassian-hosted discussions connect you to other customers who use this app.

    Versions

    Version 3.29.1 Jira Server 7.12.0 - 8.12.2 Released 2020-08-10

    Summary

    Bug fixes and improvements

    Details

    This release includes bug fixes and improvements. See our release notes for more details.

    Versions

    Version 3.29.1 Jira Data Center 7.12.0 - 8.12.2 Released 2020-08-10

    Summary

    Bug fixes and improvements

    Details

    This release includes bug fixes and improvements. See our release notes for more details.

    Installation

    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Atlassian Marketplace. The Manage add-ons screen loads.
    3. Click Find new apps or Find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page.
    4. Locate Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio) via search. The appropriate app version appears in the search results.
    5. Click Try free to begin a new trial or Buy now to purchase a license for Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio). You're prompted to log into MyAtlassian. Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio) begins to download.
    6. Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
    7. Click Apply license. If you're using an older version of UPM, you can copy and paste the license into your Jira instance.

    To find older Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio) versions compatible with your instance, you can look through our version history page.

    1. Log into your Jira instance as an admin.
    2. Click the admin dropdown and choose Atlassian Marketplace. The Manage add-ons screen loads.
    3. Click Find new apps or Find new add-ons from the left-hand side of the page.
    4. Locate Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio) via search. The appropriate app version appears in the search results.
    5. Click Try free to begin a new trial or Buy now to purchase a license for Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio). You're prompted to log into MyAtlassian. Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio) begins to download.
    6. Enter your information and click Generate license when redirected to MyAtlassian.
    7. Click Apply license. If you're using an older version of UPM, you can copy and paste the license into your Jira instance.

    To find older Advanced Roadmaps (formerly Portfolio) versions compatible with your instance, you can look through our version history page.

    Similar apps